Skip to content

[BUG]: Sugesstions for improving UI/UX for (folder) sharing #581

Description

@h-2

Describe the bug

First of all: Super happy to see this feature, thank you very much! Please see all of the following as constructive criticism ❤️

What are the permissions?

Upon creating a share of a folder, it says:

[] create [ ] edit [ ] delete

Upon creating a share of an individual note/list, it says:

[ ] read [ ] edit [ ] delete

That's a subtle difference, that is easy to overlook. Also, "edit" on note implies "read" on note, but "edit" on folder does not imply "create" on folder, does it? How does inheriting of these work?

More generally: is this difference really useful? From a security point of view, anybody with "edit" rights can add any content and remove any content, completely. What good is it, if someone cannot "delete" a note, but they can delete all the content of the note?

I think that for an application of Jotty's scope (small to medium number of users per instance), having only one distinction in "read-only" vs "read-write" (where the rw implies create and delete) would be totally sufficient (and much easier to communicate visually).

Inheriting

image

This is a bit confusing, because obviously the item inherits the sharing properties at the moment. If I do not click on "Keep this one private", why can I still modify the ui elements below? What happens?

I would suggest one checkbox on everything that is not top-level:

  • Inherit from parent folder.

If this is checked, all other ui elements should be disabled/read-only (but still show correct values). If I uncheck the box, the inherited settings become encoded locally for the current item and the UI elements become enabled, so the settings are mutable.

This also allows a clean way to return to the default (by checking the top checkbox and re-inheriting the settings).

Sharing without any rights

Image

What is the implication of sharing something but allowing neither create, edit, nor delete? I can remove all of this, but then it is still "shared" and I need to additionally "remove the user" from the share. This is not intuitive. Unchecking all three boxes should be the same as removing the share with the user.

Steps to Reproduce

See above

How do you run Jotty?

Other

Jotty Version

1.26.0

Checklist

  • I have searched across other issues to make sure this bug has not been already reported.

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Projects

    Milestone

    No milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions