Skip to content

[BUG]: Sidebar Sharing Permissions Incorrect #604

Description

@tsfxpro

Describe the bug

When sharing individual notes/lists, the user shared with sees a kind of pseudo category with the name of the user that shared with them. When shares have different individual permissions, the user sees the same permission for all.
Difficult to find a hard rule as to which item's permissions are shown for all. If it has defaulted to write/delete permissions, the user can edit (title only), archive and delete read only items. These permissions should not be allowed for read only.

Image

Have to believe me that Read Only is configured Read Only here

Additionally, if a category is shared and then items within that category configured with individual shares, the sharer sees the correct permissions but the sharee still has full category level permissions. Even if sharing from the note/list is completely removed.

Both of these on the sharer side
Image

Image

Show up like this on the shared user side.

Image

Actual editing is restricted or errors when attempted without correct permissions. Only actions from the sidebar and incorrectly granted.

Steps to Reproduce

Share notes/lists with different permissions to the same user. Observe in the sidebar menu of the user the items were shared with
Share at category level then edit permissions of individual items within the category

How do you run Jotty?

Docker

Jotty Version

1.26.1

Checklist

  • I have searched across other issues to make sure this bug has not been already reported.

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    acceptedThis has been accepted and will be worked onto be deployedBeen worked on and will be deployed in the next release

    Projects

    Milestone

    No milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions