You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
New Deck board created in a team isn't owned by team #2887
As I understand this created some discussion, perhaps this is helpful:
I simply thought the feature might have been broken. If it works, just doesn't show it explicitly - I can deal with that, though I do worry it confuses users like it confused me. But as long as it works as intended - as long as the team is owner, meaning no person who leaves can break the share - I would guess we're happy 😄
We do plan more changes. 2 things that are probably relevant - I think I shared them in the productivity chat already?
Remove team owner. Right now there's a team owner, which funnily enough gives Teams the same problem as team ownership was meant to resolve for other apps.
team roles mapping & extension. Right now, there are a number of tam roles (owner, admin, moderator, member). We want to make a few changes, over time.
We want to make sure the roles map onto the apps: team moderators should be moderators in Talk rooms, for example.
probably logical, but next we want to introduce a view-only role. ideally both of these features make it into 36.
bigger and more ambitious, maybe for post 36, we want to introduce custom roles. A team admin can define roles - think "can create Deck boards", "can moderate Talk rooms","can only view files".
The current behaviour looks like they use the random user workflow. (if the owner is deleted a random user based on team role is assigned as the new owner) I have tested this on NC35 and checked the database entries. This seems to verify this behaviour.
Activity
marcoambrosini commentedon Sep 6, 2026
Seems to be only a front-end issue on deck's side
samin-z commentedon Sep 7, 2026
@jospoortvliet i'll look into it.
jospoortvliet commentedon Sep 15, 2026
As I understand this created some discussion, perhaps this is helpful:
I simply thought the feature might have been broken. If it works, just doesn't show it explicitly - I can deal with that, though I do worry it confuses users like it confused me. But as long as it works as intended - as long as the team is owner, meaning no person who leaves can break the share - I would guess we're happy 😄
We do plan more changes. 2 things that are probably relevant - I think I shared them in the productivity chat already?
Let's discuss at the conf ;-)
JustinDoek commentedon Sep 17, 2026
Interested in how it should work?
The current behaviour looks like they use the random user workflow. (if the owner is deleted a random user based on team role is assigned as the new owner) I have tested this on NC35 and checked the database entries. This seems to verify this behaviour.